Georgia in NATO Brussels Summit Declaration

2018-07-11 21:23:09

Heads of State and Government of the 29 member nations of the North Atlantic Alliance adopted on July11 the Brussels Summit Declaration, reiterating among others the decision made at the 2008 Bucharest Summit “that Georgia will become a member of the Alliance, with MAP as an integral part of the process.”

“We reiterate the decision made at the 2008 Bucharest Summit that Georgia will become a member of the Alliance, with MAP as an integral part of the process; we reaffirm all elements of that decision, as well as subsequent decisions.  We welcome the significant progress realised since 2008.  We welcome the central role played by the NATO-Georgia Commission and the Annual National Programme over the past decade in deepening political dialogue and cooperation between NATO and Georgia.  We recognise the significant progress on reforms which Georgia has made and must continue, which are helping Georgia, an aspirant country, progress in its preparations towards membership, and which strengthen Georgia’s defence and interoperability capabilities with the Alliance.  Georgia’s relationship with the Alliance contains all the practical tools to prepare for eventual membership.  We welcome the developing cooperation between NATO and Georgia, an enhanced opportunities partner, on Black Sea security, and the considerable progress in implementing a number of initiatives under the umbrella of the Substantial NATO-Georgia Package.  We highly appreciate Georgia’s significant and steadfast contributions to the NATO Response Force and the Resolute Support mission.  These efforts, along with Georgia’s participation in EU-led operations, demonstrate Georgia’s commitment and capability to contribute to Euro-Atlantic security.  We stand ready to enhance further our support to Georgia, including in the areas of counter-mobility, training and exercises, and secure communications, and we look forward to the next NATO-Georgia exercise in 2019,” the document said.

The NATO leaders also call on Moscow to reverse its recognition of Abkhazia and South Ossetia regions and implement the EU-mediated 12 August 2008 ceasefire, “particularly the withdrawal of Russian forces from the territory of Georgia; to end its militarisation of these regions; and to stop the construction of border-like obstacles.”  

“We continue to support the right of all our partners to make independent and sovereign choices on foreign and security policy, free from external pressure and coercion.  We remain committed in our support for the territorial integrity, independence, and sovereignty of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and the Republic of Moldova”, the declaration said.